← All guides

Best LiFePO4 battery for a camper van: ten 12 V lithium batteries compared by Wh/kg, €/kWh and current

· 14 min read

For most van builds the Fogstar Drift 105 Ah is the battery to beat: heater, app, IP67, a 10-year warranty, 10 kg, ≈ €432. If the bank is 200 Ah or more, one LiTime 230 Ah at ≈ €191 per kWh replaces two boxes. If the budget is the constraint, the LiTime Mini is the lightest 100 Ah made and the Eco-Worthy the cheapest per kWh. And if the system is Victron end to end, the Victron Smart with its external BMS is the one that talks to it. Ten 12 V lithium iron phosphate batteries, ranked on energy per kilo and per litre, price per kWh, continuous current, warranty and how they behave below 0 °C — from published specs, with the cycle-life claims shown but not scored, because 4,000 cycles at 100 % and 2,500 at 80 % are not the same test.

I have not cycled these batteries; the method box says exactly what the score is. The planner part is real: batteries are the densest object in a van after water, and every unit here is a box with a weight you can place low and forward in VanPlot and read the axle load before you order.

The comparison

#ProductOverallEnergy per kg (Wh/kg)Energy per litre of box (Wh/L)Price per kWh (€/kWh)Continuous discharge (A)Warranty (years)Cold charging (0 none / 1 cut-off / 2 heated)Cycles, cold behaviour, limits (as reported)W × H × DWeightPrice
1LiTime 12 V 230 Ah Plus
Best value for a big bank
230 Ah, drop-in, single large unit
8.6141
8.8
149
7.6
191
9.4
200 A
10.0
n/p
cut-off
5.0
4,000 @ 100 % DoD, 6,000 @ 80 %; 1,000 A peak 1 s; charge stops below 0 °C, resumes at 5 °C; Bluetooth on the BT SKU; 4P4S; warranty not stated on the DE page (LiTime)483 × 240 × 170 mm20.87 kg≈ €563
2LiTime 12 V 100 Ah Mini
Best budget 100 Ah
100 Ah, drop-in, compact
7.9149
10.0
163
10.0
192
9.4
100 A
0.0
n/p
n/p
4,000+ cycles @ 100 % DoD, 6,000 @ 80 %; 500 A peak 1 s; −20 to 60 °C; no Bluetooth on the basic Mini; warranty and low-temp cut-off not stated on the DE page (LiTime)260 × 227 × 133 mm8.6 kg≈ €246
3Fogstar Drift 105 Ah
Best overall 100 Ah class
105 Ah, drop-in, heated
6.8134
7.8
147
7.2
321
7.1
100 A
0.0
10 y
10.0
heated
10.0
> 3,500 cycles @ 80 % DoD; EVE LF105K cells; heater from charge current at ≤ 0 °C; IP67; Bluetooth; spec sheet prints 1,280 Wh but 105 Ah × 12.8 V is 1,344 (Fogstar)260 × 209 × 168 mm10 kg≈ €432
4Redodo 12 V 100 Ah Mini
100 Ah, drop-in, compact
6.4142
9.0
162
9.9
188
9.5
100 A
0.0
5 y
2.9
none
0.0
4,000+ cycles @ 100 % DoD; 250 A for 5 s; IP65; no low-temp charge protection and no Bluetooth on the Mini — Redodo's own comparison says so (Redodo)260 × 228 × 133 mm9 kg≈ €240
5Renogy 12 V 100 Ah Pro (self-heating, Bluetooth)
Best heated under €400
100 Ah, drop-in, heated
5.8122
5.9
136
5.4
296
7.6
100 A
0.0
7 y
5.7
heated
10.0
5,000 cycles @ 80 % DoD; heater on below 5 °C, off above 10 °C, needs > 4 A charge; 200 A peak 5 s; series not supported, 8 in parallel; Bluetooth 5.0 (Renogy)260 × 215 × 168 mm10.5 kg≈ €379
6Eco-Worthy 12 V 100 Ah (Bluetooth, low-temp)
Cheapest per kWh
100 Ah, drop-in
5.5122
5.9
137
5.5
156
10.0
100 A
0.0
3 y
0.0
cut-off
5.0
80 % after 4,000 deep cycles; Bluetooth 5.0; charge cut-off −7 °C (amazon.de page) or 0 °C (de.eco-worthy.com) — the two Eco-Worthy pages disagree; 4S4P (Eco-Worthy)260 × 214 × 168 mm10.5 kg≈ €200
7Bulltron Polar 105 Ah
Best for a 2 kW inverter
105 Ah, drop-in, heated
5.2128
6.9
146
7.0
581
2.6
150 A
5.0
5 y
2.9
heated
10.0
3,500 cycles @ 100 % DoD or 6,000 @ 80 %; 5 A active balancer; heater below 0 °C from charge current; 300 A peak; −30 to 60 °C; Bluetooth 4.0; made in Germany (Bulltron)279 × 189 × 175 mm10.5 kg≈ €781
8Victron LiFePO4 Smart 12,8/100
Best inside a Victron system
100 Ah, external BMS
4.485
0.4
133
4.8
420
5.4
200 A
10.0
3 y
0.0
cut-off
5.0
2,500 cycles @ 80 % DoD, 5,000 @ 50 %; charge 5–50 °C; needs an external BMS (smallBMS / VE.Bus BMS) to cut charge and load; Bluetooth (Victron)321 × 197 × 152 mm15 kg≈ €537
9Battle Born BB10012
100 Ah, drop-in
2.691
1.3
105
0.0
574
2.7
100 A
0.0
10 y
10.0
cut-off
5.0
3,000–5,000 cycles, ~75–80 % after 3,000; 200 A surge 30 s; charging blocked below −3.9 °C (manual); no Bluetooth (Battle Born)324 × 214 × 175 mm14 kg≈ €735
10Liontron LX Arctic 12,8 V 100 Ah
Best for −30 °C
100 Ah, drop-in, heated to −30 °C
2.183
0.0
107
0.3
731
0.0
150 A
5.0
5 y
2.9
heated
10.0
≥ 3,000 cycles @ 90 % DoD; two heating elements, charge and discharge to −30 °C; 200 A pulse ≤ 20 s; Bluetooth 4.0; retailer dims differ by 4–6 mm (Liontron / echolotzentrum)344 × 202 × 172 mm15.5 kg≈ €936

How these are rated — and what I did not do

I have not run these units side by side. This is a spec-sheet comparison: every number in the table is a manufacturer or retailer figure, linked per product and checked September 2026. Where makers publish energy figures under different conditions they are shown as reported and kept out of the score, because a number measured at 32 °C cannot be ranked against one measured at 25 °C. What can be ranked fairly is arithmetic on published dimensions, weight, capacity and price — the things that decide whether a unit fits your layout, what it costs you in payload, and what it costs per litre. That is what the score is.

Each metric is scaled 0–10 across this set (best = 10, worst = 0), then weighted:

  • Energy per kg (Wh/kg)20 % (higher is better)
  • Energy per litre of box (Wh/L)15 % (higher is better)
  • Price per kWh (€/kWh)30 % (lower is better)
  • Continuous discharge (A)15 % (higher is better)
  • Warranty (years)10 % (higher is better)
  • Cold charging (0 none / 1 cut-off / 2 heated)10 % (higher is better)
  • Energy is rated Ah × 12.8 V (1,280 Wh for 100 Ah, 1,344 for 105 Ah, 2,944 for 230 Ah). Wh per litre uses the outside case volume.
  • Price per kWh uses the street price named per product. The Victron figure adds the ≈ €46 smallBMS it cannot run without; the Battle Born figure is US$799 × 0.92, since no EU retailer was found; the Fogstar is £369 × 1.17 before import charges.
  • Cold charging is scored 0 (no protection), 1 (BMS cut-off) or 2 (heated). The LiTime Mini's cut-off and warranty are not stated on its EU page, so it is scored over four metrics; the LiTime 230's warranty likewise — their scores are flattered by that and the verdicts say so.
  • Cycle-life claims, peak currents and series/parallel limits are shown as reported and not scored: makers test at different depths of discharge and rates.
  • Manufacturer pages could not be opened from this build environment this run; figures come from the makers' published datasheets and listings as indexed, cross-checked between retailers, with every disagreement shown in the product's reported line.

No affiliate links: product links go to the manufacturer or the spec page the numbers came from. If a spec here is wrong, tell me and I will fix it and note the change.

How to choose: size the bank, then pick the box that fits

Ah first. The battery and solar sizing post turns a day’s loads into a bank: about 100 Ah for a weekender, 200–300 Ah for a couple with an inverter, 400–600 Ah for winter or induction cooking. Only then does this table matter, because it changes what you compare: at 200 Ah, two 100 Ah units in parallel against one 230 Ah unit is a real choice, and the single box wins on price per kWh, cables and BMS count, and loses on redundancy and length.

Amps second. A 100 A BMS delivers about 1.2 kW continuous; a 2 kW inverter at full power wants 170 A at 12 V. That means two 100 A units in parallel, one 150 A unit (Bulltron, Liontron) or the Victron’s 200 A — or an inverter you never run flat out. Peak figures (200–1,000 A for 1–30 s) cover motor start-up, not cooking.

Cold third. Lithium iron phosphate must not be charged below 0 °C. Inside the heated living space that is a non-issue; in a garage, under the floor or in a van that winters in the Alps it decides between a heated unit, a cut-off unit that waits, and a bare unit that trusts your charger’s sensor. The cold metric here is 10 % of the score, which is too little for a winter van and about right for a summer one.

Then the box. The cases here run from 260 × 133 × 227 mm (LiTime and Redodo Mini) to 483 × 170 × 240 mm (LiTime 230) and 8.6 to 20.9 kg. Batteries are the densest thing in the van after water, and where they sit moves the centre of mass — the weight post puts them low, ahead of the rear axle, on the side opposite the water tank. Every unit here is a planner preset or a typed-in box, so the bench height and the axle load are checked before the order.

The batteries, in order

1. LiTime 12 V 230 Ah PlusBest value for a big bank

Overall 8.6/10 · 483 × 240 × 170 mm (19.7 L outside) · 20.87 kg · ≈ €563 (€563.02 eBay.de, Sep 2026 (€451 each at 4+)) · reported: 4,000 @ 100 % DoD, 6,000 @ 80 %; 1,000 A peak 1 s; charge stops below 0 °C, resumes at 5 °C; Bluetooth on the BT SKU; 4P4S; warranty not stated on the DE page (LiTime)

One 21 kg box with 2.9 kWh, a 200 A BMS and a cold cut-off, at ≈ €191 per kWh: a couple's bank with one BMS and two cables. It scores over five metrics because LiTime's EU page does not state a warranty, so read its 8.6 with that caveat. The 483 mm length dictates the battery box — place it in the planner before you build the bench.

Reasons to buy

  • 2.9 kWh and 200 A in one 21 kg box — a couple's bank in a single unit
  • ≈ €191 per kWh
  • One BMS, two cables, no paralleling

Reasons to avoid

  • 483 mm long: it dictates the battery box
  • One unit is one point of failure
  • Warranty not surfaced on the EU page this run

Not a planner preset yet; place a generic item and type these dimensions and weight in. Specs: litime.de, ebay.de.

2. LiTime 12 V 100 Ah MiniBest budget 100 Ah

Overall 7.9/10 · 260 × 227 × 133 mm (7.8 L outside) · 8.6 kg · ≈ €246 (€246.49 eBay.de LiTime store, Sep 2026 (litime.de clearance)) · reported: 4,000+ cycles @ 100 % DoD, 6,000 @ 80 %; 500 A peak 1 s; −20 to 60 °C; no Bluetooth on the basic Mini; warranty and low-temp cut-off not stated on the DE page (LiTime)

The lightest (8.6 kg) and, per kWh, second-cheapest 100 Ah here, in a 133 mm-wide case that goes where a Group 24 will not. Its score is over four of six metrics: litime.de states neither a warranty nor a low-temperature cut-off for the basic Mini, and the Mini has no app. For a weekender bank under a seat it is hard to beat; for a winter van, buy one of the heated units.

Reasons to buy

  • 8.6 kg — the lightest 100 Ah in the guide by 0.4 kg
  • 133 mm wide: fits where a Group 24 case does not
  • ≈ €246, the cheapest per kWh after the Eco-Worthy

Reasons to avoid

  • Basic SKU: no app, and the cold cut-off is not stated on the EU page
  • Warranty not surfaced on litime.de this run — excluded from its score
  • 100 A BMS: one unit will not run a 2 kW inverter at full power

In the planner: pick Battery 105Ah and choose the preset “LiTime 100 Ah” — it drops in at these dimensions and this weight, so the fit and the axle load are checked before you order. Specs: litime.de, litime.com.

3. Fogstar Drift 105 AhBest overall 100 Ah class

Overall 6.8/10 · 260 × 209 × 168 mm (9.1 L outside) · 10 kg · ≈ €432 (£369 fogstar.co.uk incl. UK delivery, Sep 2026, ×1.17) · reported: > 3,500 cycles @ 80 % DoD; EVE LF105K cells; heater from charge current at ≤ 0 °C; IP67; Bluetooth; spec sheet prints 1,280 Wh but 105 Ah × 12.8 V is 1,344 (Fogstar)

The full feature list — heater, app, IP67, named EVE cells, a 10-year warranty — at ≈ €432 and 10 kg in a Group 24 case. Two things to settle with Fogstar before buying: the spec sheet prints 1,280 Wh where 105 Ah × 12.8 V is 1,344, and it says both 100 A and 1C (105 A) for continuous discharge. From the EU, add import VAT and duty to the £369.

Reasons to buy

  • 10-year warranty, heater, app, IP67 — the full feature list at a mid price
  • Named EVE cells, 4S1P
  • Group 24 case, 10 kg

Reasons to avoid

  • UK retailer: import VAT and duty for the EU after the £ price
  • 100 A continuous (spec sheet says 1C = 105 A — which one, Fogstar?)
  • 1,344 or 1,280 Wh depending on which Fogstar document you read

Not a planner preset yet; place a generic item and type these dimensions and weight in. Specs: fogstar.co.uk, cdn.shopify.com.

4. Redodo 12 V 100 Ah Mini

Overall 6.4/10 · 260 × 228 × 133 mm (7.9 L outside) · 9 kg · ≈ €240 (€239.99 eBay.de, Sep 2026) · reported: 4,000+ cycles @ 100 % DoD; 250 A for 5 s; IP65; no low-temp charge protection and no Bluetooth on the Mini — Redodo's own comparison says so (Redodo)

The LiTime Mini's twin case at 9 kg and ≈ €240 with a stated 5-year warranty — and, by Redodo's own comparison page, no low-temperature charge protection and no Bluetooth. If your charger has a battery temperature sensor and the bank lives inside the heated van, that is fine; if not, it is the one battery here that can be damaged by a cold-morning charge.

Reasons to buy

  • Same 133 mm-wide case as the LiTime Mini, 9 kg
  • ≈ €240 with a 5-year warranty
  • 4S4P

Reasons to avoid

  • No cold-charge cut-off: your charger or a temperature sensor has to do it
  • No app
  • Peak 250 A for 5 s only

Not a planner preset yet; place a generic item and type these dimensions and weight in. Specs: redodopower.de, redodopower.com.

5. Renogy 12 V 100 Ah Pro (self-heating, Bluetooth)Best heated under €400

Overall 5.8/10 · 260 × 215 × 168 mm (9.4 L outside) · 10.5 kg · ≈ €379 (€378.99 de.renogy.com promo, Sep 2026 (list €421–580 across Renogy EU pages)) · reported: 5,000 cycles @ 80 % DoD; heater on below 5 °C, off above 10 °C, needs > 4 A charge; 200 A peak 5 s; series not supported, 8 in parallel; Bluetooth 5.0 (Renogy)

Self-heating, Bluetooth, IP65 and a 7-year warranty at ≈ €379 on Renogy's own promo — the cheapest heated unit in the guide. Two limits: it cannot be wired in series, so it is a 12 V battery for life, and the heater only works when more than 4 A of charge is available. Renogy's price swings €200 between its own pages; wait for the promo.

Reasons to buy

  • Self-heating at the second-lowest price here
  • Group 24 case, 10.5 kg, IP65
  • 7-year warranty

Reasons to avoid

  • Cannot be put in series — 12 V systems only
  • Renogy's own price swings €200 between pages; buy on the promo
  • Heater needs 4 A of charge current before it does anything

Not a planner preset yet; place a generic item and type these dimensions and weight in. Specs: eu.renogy.com, de.renogy.com.

6. Eco-Worthy 12 V 100 Ah (Bluetooth, low-temp)Cheapest per kWh

Overall 5.5/10 · 260 × 214 × 168 mm (9.3 L outside) · 10.5 kg · ≈ €200 (€199.99 eBay.de, Sep 2026) · reported: 80 % after 4,000 deep cycles; Bluetooth 5.0; charge cut-off −7 °C (amazon.de page) or 0 °C (de.eco-worthy.com) — the two Eco-Worthy pages disagree; 4S4P (Eco-Worthy)

The lowest price per kWh in the guide (≈ €156) with an app and a cold cut-off. The 3-year warranty is the shortest here, peak and charge currents are not published, and Eco-Worthy's two product pages give the cut-off as −7 °C and 0 °C respectively — I would treat it as 0 °C. A budget second unit in a parallel bank.

Reasons to buy

  • ≈ €200: the lowest price per kWh in the guide
  • App and a cold cut-off at a budget price
  • Group 24 case

Reasons to avoid

  • 3-year warranty
  • Eco-Worthy's own pages give two different cut-off temperatures
  • Peak current and charge current not published

Not a planner preset yet; place a generic item and type these dimensions and weight in. Specs: de.eco-worthy.com, amazon.de.

7. Bulltron Polar 105 AhBest for a 2 kW inverter

Overall 5.2/10 · 279 × 189 × 175 mm (9.2 L outside) · 10.5 kg · ≈ €781 (€780.90 campingplus.de, Sep 2026 (RRP €1,049; geizhals from €705)) · reported: 3,500 cycles @ 100 % DoD or 6,000 @ 80 %; 5 A active balancer; heater below 0 °C from charge current; 300 A peak; −30 to 60 °C; Bluetooth 4.0; made in Germany (Bulltron)

150 A continuous with a 5 A active balancer in a 10.5 kg, 189 mm-tall case — the lowest heated unit, made in Germany, with series to 48 V. One unit runs a 1.9 kW load; two, a 3 kW inverter. It costs ≈ €781 street with a 5-year warranty, which is a 10-year price, and retailers spread from €705 to €1,370 for the same battery.

Reasons to buy

  • 150 A continuous and an active balancer in a 10.5 kg case
  • 189 mm tall — the lowest heated unit, for under-seat boxes
  • Series to 48 V and parallel for 12 V

Reasons to avoid

  • ≈ €781 street, and retailers spread from €705 to €1,370
  • 5-year warranty at a 10-year price
  • 300 A peak duration not published

Not a planner preset yet; place a generic item and type these dimensions and weight in. Specs: bulltron.de, cdn-reichelt.de, campingplus.de.

8. Victron LiFePO4 Smart 12,8/100Best inside a Victron system

Overall 4.4/10 · 321 × 197 × 152 mm (9.6 L outside) · 15 kg · ≈ €537 (€490.70 battery, geizhals.de lowest 2025/26, + €46 smallBMS; older listings still show €1,000+) · reported: 2,500 cycles @ 80 % DoD, 5,000 @ 50 %; charge 5–50 °C; needs an external BMS (smallBMS / VE.Bus BMS) to cut charge and load; Bluetooth (Victron)

Last of the mid-table on the spec sheet and the right answer inside a Victron system: 200 A continuous from one 100 Ah unit, cell data in VictronConnect, 20 units per bank. There is no BMS inside — a smallBMS (≈ €46, included in the price here) or a VE.Bus BMS has to be wired to cut chargers and loads — and there is no heater. The 2025/26 price cut to ≈ €491 makes it a different proposition from the €1,000+ battery it was.

Reasons to buy

  • 200 A continuous from one 100 Ah unit — twice the drop-in norm
  • Cell-level data in VictronConnect; the whole Victron system talks to it
  • Up to 20 units per bank, 4 in series

Reasons to avoid

  • No internal BMS: the smallBMS or VE.Bus BMS and the wiring that cuts loads and chargers are yours to add
  • 15 kg — the heaviest 100 Ah here bar the Liontron
  • Charge stops at 5 °C and there is no heater

In the planner: pick Battery 105Ah and choose the preset “Victron Smart 100 Ah” — it drops in at these dimensions and this weight, so the fit and the axle load are checked before you order. Specs: victronenergy.com, geizhals.de, amumot-shop.de.

9. Battle Born BB10012

Overall 2.6/10 · 324 × 214 × 175 mm (12.1 L outside) · 14 kg · ≈ €735 (US$799 battlebornbatteries.com, Sep 2026, ×0.92 — no EU retail found) · reported: 3,000–5,000 cycles, ~75–80 % after 3,000; 200 A surge 30 s; charging blocked below −3.9 °C (manual); no Bluetooth (Battle Born)

The battery that started the drop-in era, with a 10-year warranty and no parallel limit, scored down by physics and geography: 14 kg for 1,280 Wh, no Bluetooth, no heater, and no EU retailer this run — the price is US$799 converted. In North America it is a default; from Europe, the Fogstar gives the same warranty with a heater for less.

Reasons to buy

  • 10-year warranty — the longest here with the Fogstar
  • Group 27 case; no parallel limit stated
  • A decade of van-build track record

Reasons to avoid

  • US pricing and US support: no EU retailer found this run
  • 14 kg for 1,280 Wh — 91 Wh/kg against 149 for the LiTime Mini
  • No Bluetooth, no heater

In the planner: pick Battery 105Ah and choose the preset “Battle Born 100 Ah” — it drops in at these dimensions and this weight, so the fit and the axle load are checked before you order. Specs: battlebornbatteries.com, solar-electric.com, battlebornbatteries.com.

10. Liontron LX Arctic 12,8 V 100 AhBest for −30 °C

Overall 2.1/10 · 344 × 202 × 172 mm (12.0 L outside) · 15.5 kg · ≈ €936 (€935.90 pro-akkus.de (LX-MA marine IP67 variant), Sep 2026; net list €1,077.54) · reported: ≥ 3,000 cycles @ 90 % DoD; two heating elements, charge and discharge to −30 °C; 200 A pulse ≤ 20 s; Bluetooth 4.0; retailer dims differ by 4–6 mm (Liontron / echolotzentrum)

Rated for charge and discharge to −30 °C with two heating elements, 150 A continuous and German support — and 15.5 kg, 344 mm long and ≈ €936, the heaviest and dearest 100 Ah here. If the van winters at altitude with the bank outside the heated space, it is the one built for it. Liontron and its retailers differ by 4–6 mm on the case; measure the box against the datasheet.

Reasons to buy

  • Rated to −30 °C for charge and discharge — the widest window here
  • 150 A continuous, 200 A pulse
  • German support and a 5-year warranty

Reasons to avoid

  • 15.5 kg — the heaviest 100 Ah in the guide
  • ≈ €936, nearly four times the LiTime Mini per kWh
  • 344 mm long: check the box before you order

Not a planner preset yet; place a generic item and type these dimensions and weight in. Specs: liontron.com, shop.liontron.com, pro-akkus.de.

FAQ

How many Ah of LiFePO4 does a camper van need?

The battery-sizing post does the arithmetic: about 100 Ah for a weekender with a fridge, lights and phones; 200–300 Ah for a couple full-time with a 1–2 kW inverter; 400–600 Ah for winter off-grid or induction cooking. In this guide that is one 100 Ah unit, two 100–105 Ah units or one 230 Ah, and two 230 Ah units respectively.

Is a heated (self-heating) LiFePO4 battery worth it?

If the battery lives in an unheated garage or under the floor and you charge it below 0 °C, yes: lithium iron phosphate must not be charged below freezing, and a heated unit (Renogy Pro, Fogstar Drift, Bulltron Polar, Liontron Arctic) warms itself from charge current before it accepts any. A cut-off-only unit (Victron via its BMS, Eco-Worthy, LiTime 230) simply refuses to charge until it warms up — safe, but a cold morning with no charging. A no-protection unit (Redodo Mini) relies on your charger's temperature sensor.

Drop-in battery or Victron with an external BMS?

A drop-in (everything here except the Victron) has its BMS inside and cuts its own charge and load. The Victron Smart has cell balancing and Bluetooth but no protection of its own: a smallBMS (≈ €46) or VE.Bus BMS must be wired to cut chargers and loads, which is extra work and the way to get 200 A continuous and full system integration. For a first build, a drop-in; for an all-Victron system, the Victron.

How much does a 100 Ah LiFePO4 battery weigh?

8.6 kg (LiTime Mini) to 15.5 kg (Liontron LX Arctic) in this guide, with most Group 24 heated units at 10–10.5 kg. A 100 Ah AGM is around 28 kg and usable to 50 %, so 100 Ah of lithium replaces 200 Ah — 56 kg — of lead for the same usable energy.

Can these batteries be wired in series or parallel?

Most here allow 4 in series and 4 in parallel (4S4P); the Victron allows 4 in series and up to 20 per bank; the Renogy Pro cannot be put in series at all — 12 V only, 8 in parallel. Two 100 Ah units in parallel are the common couple's bank; one 230 Ah unit does the same with one BMS and two cables.

What does the €/kWh figure mean?

Street price divided by rated energy: a 100 Ah 12.8 V unit is 1.28 kWh, a 105 Ah unit 1.344 kWh, the 230 Ah unit 2.944 kWh. It is the fairest single price comparison across sizes and is 30 % of the score here. The Victron figure includes the ≈ €46 smallBMS it needs; the Battle Born figure is a US price converted, because no EU retailer was found.

Your van is waiting. Measure it, then plan it.

In sixty seconds you'll be dragging a bed into a Ducato. Free, in your browser.

Vladimir Šterjoski

Who makes this

I'm Vladimir. I'm planning my own conversion, and none of the tools I tried could tell me whether a layout would fit or what it would do to the rear axle, so I made this one. I work on it alone. If something's wrong or missing, write to me — the address goes to my inbox.

Vladimir Šterjoski

support@vanplot.comWhy I made it